Would You Like to Come In?


For me, the Bishop’s Garden has always been as much a natural part of the Cathedral itself as an arm is a part of a body. I have not thought about the Cathedral building and the Cathedral garden as standalone places; my mind failed to perceive their separateness. One extended into another, it was simply the most natural direction in which the universe flowed.

Space itself opened up, unraveled like a flower – and the outside-ness turned out to be just as integral a petal as the heaviest stone in the Cathedral foundation.

The mystery at the heart of the Cathedral gently leads me away from its walls and into its garden; away from the people and toward robins and lilies. It guides me just enough so that I come through the rounded stone gates – and leaves me suddenly.

The thinness of this place, the palpable joy of it are disorienting. This is a place that’s good for the soul.

Would you like to come in?

Enjoyed this blog post? Please share using the social sharing buttons located below.

Don’t want to miss my new essays? Follow MariaFafardWrites.com by scrolling up, locating a ‘Follow the Blog via Email’ section on the left of this essay, inputting your email into the window and clicking on the brown ‘Follow’ button.

Want to read more essays now? Go to my Homepage.

Leave a Reply

